Faerie Crafts and Hobbies

Variations on Strawberry Jam

My local Morrison’s had a load of strawberries reduced to £2.50 per kg, so I bought the lot. Apart from strawberries for breakfast, snacks and desserts I also had to preserve them, right?

 

Version 1 – Strawberry Jam with Black Dessert wine

I used the basic jam recipe here (halved as I didn’t have as much fruit) but instead of leaving the strawberries to infuse with sugar and lemon, I left them to infuse with a large glass of black dessert wine and some sugar. I used Elysium, which I had found in the recent Eat Cambridge Festival. I’d never seen black dessert wine before, only white and rose (both of which I love). It’s much deeper, very fruity and was perfect with this. I then cooked it as normal – the result was a darker jam with a deeper richer flavour. Delicious

 

20130611_203333

 

Version 2 – Strwberry Vodka Jam

2 years ago I tried to make strawberry vodka by using the excess liquid from jam making. The result was delicious, but too gloopy to use as a drink though it was quite a nice base for cocktails. So I took 300ml of that and left it to steep with 1kg of strawberries and 500g sugar for a few hours and then made the recipe as before. The result was a brighter, sharper jam, more bite to it than the other two. I want it on scones!

20130611_203351

 

Version 3 – Strawberry Dessert sauce (aka failed strawberry butter)

I love fruit butters – thick, rich, strongly flavoured they are the best thing to put on sourdough toast. I’d never made strawberry so used my usual method – 1kg strawberries, pureed with 250g jam sugar and left in the slow cooker overnight on a low heat. I used a pair of chopsticks under the lid to allow the water to evaporate but it was just too liquid. In the morning it had turned a beautiful dark red (I have totally failed to photograph the final product – sorry!) and had been cooked for as long as it could be (overcooked strawberries taste horrible) but was still very definitely a sauce and not a butter.

Oh well, I now have a lovely rich strawberry sauce to eat with ice cream, yoghurt, pierogi and so on. I am keeping it in the fridge and using it up within a month – if anyone has some great ideas of what I could use it for in cakes for example, I would love to hear it!

20130611_231239

2 comments on “Variations on Strawberry Jam

  1. Kriss Fearon
    June 19, 2013

    Cover trifle sponge with the sauce and some strawberry liqueur?

    • faerierhona
      June 20, 2013

      Oh that’s a good idea! I use Lady Fingers instead of sponge, but that could work just as well!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2013 by in Cookery, Preserving and tagged , , , , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 492 other followers

Categories

Blaadyblah

By hook or by book...

Rebelling Away From Black

Sewing and stitching for a more colourful wardrobe

craftyartiste

Sometimes craft, sometimes art, always curious.

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

The Gonzo History Project

If a thing's worth doing, it's worth doing badly.

thestitchsharer

Knitting, Crochet and Sewing for Beginners

Writings from the well...

Philosophy, poetry, punditry and other paltry platitudes

dreamsewing

Tips,Tricks & Rambles on sewing from Miss Miko the Stitch-Witch

Blue Cat Online's Blog

Electronic Scribblings on a Virtual wall

IOD Reset Team

What's been happening with the Reset Working group.

An Arkadian Path

Musings from a formerly pagan Christian

larpmusing

Because LARPers love to froth...

deviantgaming

reeking of awesome

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

