Faerie Crafts and Hobbies

Honeyfree Jewish Honey Cake

20130217_133630 81V6k8uBLKL._AA1500_

 

A very lovely friend of mine is allergic to honey, and several friends are lactose intolerant, so I was looking for a cake I could make that was

  1. Honey free
  2. Dairy Free
  3. Easy to transport
  4. Easy to eat without plates or cutlery
  5. Delicious

The honeycomb cake tin from Nordicware sorted out 3 and 4 easily enough – it cleverly makes a cake in 19 portions, all easy ti tear off in their lovely hexagons. The recipe, however, was challenging. Ordinary honeycake is too boring and sweet for me, and making it with Golden Syrup wasn’t likely to improve that. A friend recommended I try Smitten Kitchen’s Majestic and Moist Honeycake, and with a name like that, how could I not? The lovely thing is, this cake uses orange juice and whisky for moisture, as well as eggs, which gives an unusual and totally delicious texture

It should be noted, I am entirely incapable of following a recipe exactly, I always play around with it, add bits or take them away, substitute things. Usually it works out OK… not always, but this time definitely.

I had neither whisky nor rye in, so replaced that with vanilla vodka.

I didn’t have kosher salt, but normal was fine, there are so many flavours nothing came through from the salt

I sort of threw in the spices without paying much attention to precise measurements (does anyone ever?)

I added more vanilla extract, following an accident with the ground cloves, to even it out a little

I replaced the honey with golden syrup

I used demerera sugar instead of brown as I thought I had some of the latter in but was mistaken

I didn’t use almonds

See what I mean? Recipes are really just guidelines 🙂

Below are images of both the pan I used (Nordicware make the best pans I have ever used, I use a lot of them to make all sorts of lovely cakes) and how the cake came out. It split a little in the middle, but was otherwise perfect. Moist, spicy, unusual texture – it vanished in a few minutes. And aren’t the little bees and honeycombs just adorable? People have suggested I should use it to make a Settlers of Catan cake for the geeks in my life.

Image

aImage

3 comments on “Honeyfree Jewish Honey Cake

  1. Eternal Magpie
    February 27, 2013

    Normally I have no interest in baking whatsoever, except for the eating cake part. Now I want to buy that tin and learn how to bake, because who doesn’t need to be able to make a BEE CAKE?! Amazing. The recipe sounds gorgeous too!

  2. Charlotte R
    February 27, 2013

    May I just take this opportunity to re-iterate (yet again) just how YUM this cake was? 😀 And it was covered in beeeeeees! 😀

  3. faerierhona
    February 27, 2013

    Thanks 🙂 The nice thing about baking is that it’s not that hard, and even if you get it a bit wrong t still tends to be delicious

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2013 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 492 other followers

Categories

Blaadyblah

By hook or by book...

Rebelling Away From Black

Sewing and stitching for a more colourful wardrobe

craftyartiste

Sometimes craft, sometimes art, always curious.

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

The Gonzo History Project

If a thing's worth doing, it's worth doing badly.

thestitchsharer

Knitting, Crochet and Sewing for Beginners

Writings from the well...

Philosophy, poetry, punditry and other paltry platitudes

dreamsewing

Tips,Tricks & Rambles on sewing from Miss Miko the Stitch-Witch

Blue Cat Online's Blog

Electronic Scribblings on a Virtual wall

IOD Reset Team

What's been happening with the Reset Working group.

An Arkadian Path

Musings from a formerly pagan Christian

larpmusing

Because LARPers love to froth...

deviantgaming

reeking of awesome

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

