Faerie Crafts and Hobbies

Some more thoughts on roving dreads

I am pretty much decided on making my own. I can make them for less than half the price they cost to buy and I can get exactly what I want. Well, within reason. I have made roving dreads before and so I know what I am letting myself in for, which is sore hands and a lot of time spent bending over my kitchen table. I will keep a journal of how they come out and what techniques I use, but there are many really good tutorials out there for anyone wanting to give them a go.

I have decided that just plain old dreads won’t do and so I want transitionals, special effect yarns, and probably beads and other decorations sewn on too. This means I have to hand wet felt the wool into dreads, dry it, then dye only those parts of it that will be close to my hair (my hair is black, so I want the sections close to that to be black )and then to “transition” to fire colours. I have a vague idea of adding a snakeskin pattern to the black parts using fishnets and gold fabric dye spray or maybe it would be easier to leave them the bright colours and spray with black. I may have to have a play to find out. I am not even sure it will work, never mind if it will look ridiculous or amazing. The snakeskin part comes from my character being a Naga and having snakeskin on her brow anyway, which I will do with latex or paint and a stencil (i.e. those fishnets again)

I will be making double ended dreads, and the night before we leave my friend Angela will come over and I will braid the dreads into her hair and then she will return the favour. At least with wool dreads you have your own pillow wherever you go! At the end of the event I will take them out by unbraiding my hair and they can be washed and hung up to dry for next time.  It takes 2 hours+ to braid the hair in, and a lot of conditioner to get rid of the frizz after

I have found a supplier who does the most amazing colours, and now my only problem is making sure I don’t order far too much wool and end up not using it! The colours I am looking at include the below. Aren’t they gorgeous?

 

b58 nl7 nl2 b55

 

mmby mmbr mmbo

2 comments on “Some more thoughts on roving dreads

  1. Charlotte R
    December 16, 2012

    What lovely warm colours! I think the picture you linked to before (https://faerierhona.wordpress.com/2012/12/13/pondering-the-basics/img_2418/) could be an amazing idea if you can make them 😀

  2. C
    February 26, 2013

    Hi Rhona, found you through Eternal Magpie 🙂
    The reds look lovely (very similar to the roving I had in many years ago, but without and fancy transitions etc)- What did you do in the end? Hope you’re well 🙂

    Clare (Bunny)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2012 by in Dreads, Empire, Hair and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 492 other followers

Categories

Blaadyblah

By hook or by book...

Rebelling Away From Black

Sewing and stitching for a more colourful wardrobe

craftyartiste

Sometimes craft, sometimes art, always curious.

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

The Gonzo History Project

If a thing's worth doing, it's worth doing badly.

thestitchsharer

Knitting, Crochet and Sewing for Beginners

Writings from the well...

Philosophy, poetry, punditry and other paltry platitudes

dreamsewing

Tips,Tricks & Rambles on sewing from Miss Miko the Stitch-Witch

Blue Cat Online's Blog

Electronic Scribblings on a Virtual wall

IOD Reset Team

What's been happening with the Reset Working group.

An Arkadian Path

Musings from a formerly pagan Christian

larpmusing

Because LARPers love to froth...

deviantgaming

reeking of awesome

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

