Faerie Crafts and Hobbies

Pondering the basics

The first Empire LARP event will be Easter weekend which is end of March/ start of April. While I, and I am sure many others, will be praying for a heat wave such as we have had in March for the last couple of years, I have to consider that it may be cold. This obviously affects my fabric choices, but before I even pick up a needle it affects those things I will not be sewing and that are not part of the Costume for under £30 challenge.

As much as my costume will be “aspirational” and I will keep improving it, and as much as I will aim for “coolthentic”, I will not be concerning myself with whether my underwear is too modern, too ugly or too uncool. What I will be thinking about is warmth and comfort. Thermal leggings and top are a must, and that affects the necklines of what I make. Whether I change the necklines or add in scarves to cover the thermal undies is something I need to consider, but the thermals themselves are non-negotiable. The leggings will be hidden – under tights and harem trousers.

Secondly, footwear. I have heard very good things about Sealskinz, either as liners or socks, and while they are a lot of money, I would rather have warm dry feet than skimp on that. They are also available second hand on ebay, I am trying to work out if I can get past my “ick” factor on that or not. I mean, they’ll be washed but still…

I also need boots. Until March of last year I had my trusty DMs, but after 25 years of use and abuse they finally died on me. I have new trusty and beloved DMs, but as they are bright purple they may be cool, but don’t fulfill the “thentic” criteria of coolthentic. I would probably also prefer non-lace up boots, as they are more waterproof, but finding non-lace up boots, without a zip, that go over my calves, is not easy. Considering I am likely to trash them at the event, I will look in the sales towards the very end and also in charity shops (of which Cambridge has many good ones).

Gloves are essential, and here I want to look for nice bright red ones to go with my kit. They should be cheap by that time of year, so I can get some with fingers and some without.

To keep my head warm, I am going for something a little different. While my Burnoose will have a large hood (a very large hood probably) and while I may line it in fake fur, I am also going to be wearing wool on my head in the form of roving dreads. I will probably make these myself, in fire colours, or if I can afford it get someone else to make them. I am quite tempted to make flame dreads in fleece, but I am not sure how well they would stand up to LARPing. (Please note, none of these photos are mine, they are beautiful examples I found of the sort of thing I hope to do or get.

The first picture is what I would really like (but not with horns), the second I may be able to make or buy and the third are the fleece ones, which is the cheapest but possibly least appropriate for Empire version. Which means I may make them just for me 🙂

tumblr_marnypDzvo1qa72ue IMG_2418 M4034S-4211

3 comments on “Pondering the basics

  1. Steve
    December 13, 2012

    Speaking from experience damp feet that never get dry can really ruin a weekend long event so it, and warmth is something important to consider.

    • faerierhona
      December 13, 2012

      Yeah, I remember waking up one morning at an LARP event (I think it was Hunting Party, we were happily sleeping in huts not tents) and seeing 2 inches of snow outside. I have never been happier than I was then to have my lovely thermal undies! Also, the F&H ones I used to do where I met Kath – we regularly LARPed in the snow.

  2. drlauramitchell
    December 29, 2012

    Hey Rhona,
    just to add, I play a character with synthetic dreads and that still keeps my head warm thanks to layers. I started off with wool dreads but they soak up too much water when it rains and weigh my head down! I got mine really cheap on ebay then modded them to be a bit more ‘thentic’ with a scarf…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2012 by in Costumes, Empire and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 492 other followers

Categories

Blaadyblah

By hook or by book...

Rebelling Away From Black

Sewing and stitching for a more colourful wardrobe

craftyartiste

Sometimes craft, sometimes art, always curious.

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

The Gonzo History Project

If a thing's worth doing, it's worth doing badly.

thestitchsharer

Knitting, Crochet and Sewing for Beginners

Writings from the well...

Philosophy, poetry, punditry and other paltry platitudes

dreamsewing

Tips,Tricks & Rambles on sewing from Miss Miko the Stitch-Witch

Blue Cat Online's Blog

Electronic Scribblings on a Virtual wall

IOD Reset Team

What's been happening with the Reset Working group.

An Arkadian Path

Musings from a formerly pagan Christian

larpmusing

Because LARPers love to froth...

deviantgaming

reeking of awesome

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

