Faerie Crafts and Hobbies

Fabric haul from last weekend

I promised to upload pictures of my fabric haul from Walthamstow. So here goes, lots of lovely loot!

Fake fur

Fake fur, enough for a collar or stole. £1 from a friend

Beautiful; length suitable for long scarf e.g. with Salwar £1 from friend

Beautiful; length suitable for long scarf e.g. with Salwar £1 from friend

Red crystal organza £1/m

Red crystal organza £1/m

Thick wine red satin £1/m

Thick wine red satin £1/m

Shantung gold/ sunset orange £2/m

Shantung gold/ sunset orange £2/m

Silk chiffon sunset orange/ gold £2/m

Silk chiffon sunset orange/ gold £2/m

Incredible cut and emboidered shot organza in gold and burgundy £3.50/m

Incredible cut and emboidered shot organza in gold and burgundy £3.50/m

Close up shot of organza

Close up shot of organza

red and sunset orange satins £1/m

red and sunset orange satins £1/m

thick gorgeous wine red velvet £2.50/m

thick gorgeous wine red velvet £2.50/m

stiff gold and wine red brocade £1.50/m

stiff gold and wine red brocade £1.50/m

bright orange crystal organza £1/m

bright orange crystal organza £1/m

peach skin wine red £1/m (I bought all the had, I definitely want more!)

peach skin wine red £1/m (I bought all the had, I definitely want more!)

Sunset orange frog fastenings 75p each, Cloisonne style bells 75p/4 gold bells 75p/10

Sunset orange frog fastenings 75p each, Cloisonne style bells 75p/4 gold bells 75p/10

1.5" sunset orange ribbon £1.50, 1/2" sunset orange ribbon 50p (that's for the roll!)

1.5″ sunset orange ribbon £1.50, 1/2″ sunset orange ribbon 50p (that’s for the roll!)

Orange ribbon with amber glass and emboidery, bargain bin bargain! £1 for 3m

Orange ribbon with amber glass and emboidery, bargain bin bargain! £1 for 3m

Another  bargain bin bargain! £1 for 3m gold and red stones and embroidery trim

Another bargain bin bargain! £1 for 3m gold and red stones and embroidery trim

Yet another  bargain bin bargain! £1 for 3m red and gold beaded trim

Yet another bargain bin bargain! £1 for 3m red and gold beaded trim

Curtains from Freecycle, cotton so can be dyed £0

Curtains from Freecycle, cotton so can be dyed £0

Red curtains, Freecycle, ribbed so best for tent or cloak lining? £0

Red curtains, Freecycle, ribbed so best for tent or cloak lining? £0

Curtains from Freecycle, faded cotton can be dyed £0

Curtains from Freecycle, faded cotton can be dyed £0

As you can see, the bargains I got are amazing. You can’t go there with anything too specific in mind, it’s definitely a place you let inspire you, rather than a place you try to hunt for that one specific thing in. I knew I wanted wine red, but then went and let everything else be decided by what I found. Once I saw that embroidered organza I knew it had to be worked in somehow!

Additionally, two pieces were ones a friend no longer needed and another three are huge curtains from Freecycle. Two of those sets of curtains need to be dyed, really, but they would do to furnish the tent I will be in as they are, or one set when dyed might make that Burnoose. Now I need to source bargain clothes dye…

5 comments on “Fabric haul from last weekend

  1. Moto
    December 12, 2012

    Oooh! The trim is amazing, and lovely organza and brocade. I’ve a project of my own to hunt for, and I need over-the-top red and gold. I may end up in Walthamstow yet!

    • faerierhona
      December 12, 2012

      I have also had Goldhawk Rd and Bethnall Green Rd recommended to me, but two ladies who sew amazing projects took me round Walthamstow so what more could I ask for?

      • Moto
        December 14, 2012

        Mum and I scoured Goldhawk Road today (in the pissing rain.) It was superb in that we both got pretty much exactly what we were looking for (both of us looking for very different things) however, we did not pay the sort of prices you did in Walthamstow. Mind you, I was being very picky and going for a specific mental image rather than hunting for bargains. I’d still like to go to the market though, now I’m feeling less pressured to find a particular material, though I fear I am less imaginative than you when it comes to choosing material – a task I generally find very difficult (mostly because I’m ignorant of dressmaking.)

  2. Charlotte R
    December 12, 2012

    Such yummy fabrics 😀 I want to make a nest out of them (I am not very good at sewing)… The embroidery trims are especially lovely…

    • faerierhona
      December 12, 2012

      I am always happy to help you with costume bits when you come to Empire!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2012 by in Fabric, Sewing and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 492 other followers

Categories

Blaadyblah

By hook or by book...

Rebelling Away From Black

Sewing and stitching for a more colourful wardrobe

craftyartiste

Sometimes craft, sometimes art, always curious.

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

The Gonzo History Project

If a thing's worth doing, it's worth doing badly.

thestitchsharer

Knitting, Crochet and Sewing for Beginners

Writings from the well...

Philosophy, poetry, punditry and other paltry platitudes

dreamsewing

Tips,Tricks & Rambles on sewing from Miss Miko the Stitch-Witch

Blue Cat Online's Blog

Electronic Scribblings on a Virtual wall

IOD Reset Team

What's been happening with the Reset Working group.

An Arkadian Path

Musings from a formerly pagan Christian

larpmusing

Because LARPers love to froth...

deviantgaming

reeking of awesome

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

